Posted Sun, 15 May 2016 13:35:26 GMT by Frederick Mashingia
I am new to Mike family models. I have converted my ArcGIS DEM grid to dfs2 using the Grid2Mike tool but when I am loading it under topology menu, it is complaining that NO VALID ITEMS. Any idea?

Thanks,

Fredrick
Posted Thu, 19 May 2016 01:50:13 GMT by Frederick Mashingia
RESOLVED by changing the properties after conversion.
Posted Thu, 09 Mar 2017 20:33:17 GMT by sweetguo1989
Hi Fredrick,

I has the same issue when upload DEM grid under topography menu. Could you please tell me what kind of specific properties you change after conversion?

Thank you,
Tian
Posted Fri, 10 Mar 2017 10:52:02 GMT by Douglas Graham
Hi Tian,
Each of the data items in MIKE SHE require a specific Item Type. This is part of the overall error checking the user interface. The Item type for topography is "Elevation". This can be changed by opening the dfs2 file in the Grid Editor, and selecting Edit/Items... from the top menu.

Hope this helps.
Douglas

Posted Sat, 11 Mar 2017 02:49:56 GMT by sweetguo1989
Hi Dr. Graham,

Thank you very much for your suggestions. Problem has been solved for df2 DEM data. I am a newbie to MIKE SHE and have some more questions about my MIKE SHE model.
1. I have three rainfall gauge stations near my watersheds. I generated a Thiesson polygon for my watershed and converted it into a raster and then to a ASC file. I got error when I used Grd2MIke to convert ASC to dsf2 file. It said "Error reading Input File: ". I have checked ASC file and did not figure out what is wrong with it. And I also tried Time Series Batch Conversion but it has difficulty in reading column for date and time. So what is the best approach to prepare precipitation input from several stations for watershed? Could you please share some examples or template for it (before converted to dfs2)?