Posted Mon, 05 Mar 2018 11:47:24 GMT by emilia novo
i'm new to transient modelling, so I will make a dumm question: I have monthly recharges in shapefiles that I want to input into the model, to do transient simulations. However, once in the model, I find no obvious way of doing this. If i go to Time-serties editor and do Import, it asks me for a .pow file. In the FEFLOW videos there is no description of the structure of this .pow file. How do I input my recharge monthly shapefiles into the model and link to time-series? What is the structure of this .pow file? Do I require it to do transient?
Posted Fri, 09 Mar 2018 04:01:51 GMT by Hugo Ninanya Geomechanics Engineer
Hi Emilia

The .pow files are defined as two columns (time - recharge). I am attaching an example (be careful with the units).
For 2D models, I usually define the recharge though Neumann BC's, and, for 3D models the recharge is only defined on the top layer through material properties (inflow/outflow).

Hugo Ninanya
hninanya@outlook.com

Posted Tue, 13 Mar 2018 10:56:26 GMT by emilia novo
thanks for the answer. At least now I know the structure of a pow file. Thank you!
However I do have a problem. First my recharge is not a unique value for the whole model domain. In fact it is a patch of different values, in accordance with soil characteristics and land cover. So I do have not one value for each time step (which I assume is the first column) but several. In this case, how do I build my pow? And in fact is there no other simpler alternative to input the recharge values? I have my stuff in shapefile.
Posted Fri, 16 Mar 2018 04:44:50 GMT by Jarrah Muller Civil Engineer
You can link the data in the shapefile to a user defined element distribution, but only one time step at a time as user data distributions can't be time varying for some reason. So, you could have one element distribution for January, one for Feb etc. Only practical if you have cyclic yearly data.