Posted Thu, 12 Jan 2012 10:35:53 GMT by tlange
Hi,

(I'm new to Feflow...)
for a simple model set up...
    --> 1 layer (confined)
    --> 2 wells: 1 injection, 1 extraction (set as well bc)
    --> tracer impuls at injection well (set as well bc, with time function)

I need to compute the tracer recovery in the extraction well. What would be the method of choise in Feflow?

[u]Additional question:[/u]
To assign the well bc's for the current model I assigned 50% of the fluxes to both, the nodes of the top and bottom slice (summing up to 100%). This is probably not the usual way...?

If I want to assign well bc's to a multi-layer model. To which nodes of the individual layers I specify the individual conditions? Or would be defining source/sink in material properties more appropriate?

Thank you, Torsten

Posted Wed, 25 Jan 2012 01:41:08 GMT by psinton@aquageo.us
You should run tests to figure out the best method for solving the transport equation however shock-front capturing may work well.

If you run as a 2d model with 2 slices and one layer, you will get concentration at the top and bottom of the layer, not in the middle.  You can average the top and bottom but it would be better to simulate the system with at least three slices (two layers) with one slice in the middle.  You will get results on the middle slice directly, and the model may behave more realistically. 

Specifying 50% from top and 50% from the bottom is sensible for the system you describe.  More from one elevation implies 3d flow which implies you need more layers to simulate vertical flow more realistically.