Posted Thu, 31 Oct 2013 03:40:05 GMT by Denim Umeshkumar Anajwala
Hello there,

This is my first time using MIKE21 and I'm using it to model flooding in a section of the Fraser River (BC). I haven't ran into any problems yet until the very last step: defining the output file. I get the error of wrong dimension of output file and spent several hours trying to figure out why this is happening. I'll do my best to explain what I've done up until now.

I obtained a .gdb surface model and extracted the xyz coordinates on a 10mx10m using ArcGIS. Using this data I defined the bathymetry on a 35mx35m grid with 194 grid cells in the X-direction and 419 grid cells in the Y-direction. Any cells in the bathymetry data that had no elevation data were filled with "land values". After modifying the bathymetry to my satisfaction I saved the file and began a .m21 file to begin defining the simulation parameters.

Everything went well until I got to the last tab "Results" where I defined a type 2 output file. The program automatically detected the size of my generated grid (194 cells by 419 cells) and number of time steps (72). For some reason I get the error of wrong dimension of output file. I've tried changing the range of the cells for the output but nothing seems to work. I still get the same error for a type 1 output file (line series).

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Steven
Posted Thu, 31 Oct 2013 12:16:43 GMT by Torben Strange Jensen
Steven,

To solve this problem for a dfs1 (line-type) result-file in MIKE 21, it is required that you define the 'output area' to reflect that you are requesting a line output to be produced.
It is also important to notice that the line output option from a simulation produces either a horisontal line or a vertical  line compared to the model-grid.