Posted Mon, 22 Jun 2020 16:50:33 GMT by Artemii Osipchuk South-Eastern University of Applied Sciences, Finland
Hello,

I'm a beginner in WEST and I use it to simulate a small-scale WWTP for study. It's oval-shaped oxidation ditch with clarifier. I consider C, N removal mainly and use ASM1Template.

Questions:
1) Aeration. Oxygen is supplied by bubble diffusers and surface aerators. I tried to use PI controller blocks to model oxygen supply in compartments, but when I use 2 or more PI a simulations takes ages to finish. I found that aerator Block can be used for diffusers. Is there alternative for surface aerators as well?

2) Chemical precipitation. Both calcium hydroxide and ferrous sulfate are used. What blocks should I use for them?

3) Can I calculate SRT in WEST? If so, how can I do it in my case?

BR,
Artemii
Posted Tue, 23 Jun 2020 06:42:03 GMT by Enrico Remigi WEST Product Owner
Hello,
[quote author=ArtemiiOs link=topic=21999.msg29085#msg29085 date=1592844633]
1) Aeration. Oxygen is supplied by bubble diffusers and surface aerators. I tried to use PI controller blocks to model oxygen supply in compartments, but when I use 2 or more PI a simulations takes ages to finish. I found that aerator Block can be used for diffusers. Is there alternative for surface aerators as well?
[/quote]
It cannot be related to the use of one or two PI controllers, it must be caused by some other setting. Have you checked the Logging? which integrator are you using?
On a side note, if you use an aerator block (either blower or surface aerator), you may need to use a controller (e.g. PI) upstream to the aerator for regulation.

2) Chemical precipitation. Both calcium hydroxide and ferrous sulfate are used. What blocks should I use for them?
[/quote]
Precipitation of what?
In ASM1, the only chemical dosing blocks are for external carbon ..

3) Can I calculate SRT in WEST? If so, how can I do it in my case?
[/quote]